autumn-leaves-11-23-08-maybe-finished

It was so cold here yesterday that the thought of working on these autumn leaves again didn’t seem right.  There are not many leaves on the trees anymore.   It was 26 degrees out when I went to walk Kaiya yesterday.  Brrrrr. At least it wasn’t snowing.  My niece reports snowstorms in Anchorage, Alaska.  And to think that just a few short weeks ago I was in the Caribbean, soaking up the sun, swimming, tanning and enjoying the “drink of the day”. (I’m still waiting for room service to deliver my breakfast.  Where is that guy?)

But all good things must come to an end, so I’m back home in the cold, back to work, and back to these autumn leaves.  I THINK they are done.  I used quite a bit of gouache on this painting.  More than I’ve ever before.

gouache (rhymes with squash) –noun

a technique of painting with opaque watercolors prepared with gum.

Most of my watercolors don’t have any gouache.  But some do.  There are some watercolor purists who say the “whites” of the painting should only be the white of the paper.  Oh well, I am not a purist.  I guess in this case the end DOES justify the means.  Or there are many roads to the same destination.  Or, …. oh ok.  I’ll just shut up.

