pastel landscape - rightonChalk pastel on Canson watercolor paper approximately 8×10″

Not long ago a neighbor talking to The Husband and me uttered the phrase “right on”.

What? I had not heard that phrase used in regular conversation since the 70’s. And then I heard it again. And again. And again. From different people. Is “right on” a thing now?  Has it returned?

I immediately thought of that classic anti-war song by Arlo Guthrie where he sings “you can get anything you want at Alice’s Restaurant” at the draft board:

“You know, if one person, just one person, (says) it, they may think he’s really sick and they won’t take him.

And if two people do it, in harmony, they may think they’re both f*****s and they won’t take either of them.

And if three people do it! Can you imagine three people walkin’ in, singin’ a bar of “Alice’s Restaurant” and walkin’ out? They may think it’s an Organization!”…

Now I’m not saying that “right on” is an anti-war phrase like “you can get anything you want at Alice’s Restaurant”.  I’m asking, if you hear a phrase you haven’t heard since the 70’s more than 3 times is it now a thing?

Or do I have too much time on my hands?  Ok don’t answer that.

Cathyann Burgess, a former virtual blog friend and now a real friend invited me to her home for a pastel lesson with 3 others. Not having any pastel supplies Cathyann generously let me use hers. The above painting was the result of the day using a reference supplied by Cathyann. As I was leaving her house I was asked by the other students, “did you like using pastels?”  I replied that I thought Cathyann was like a drug dealer.  The first one was “free” and now I’ll be off at Cheap Joes buying whatever pastels I can get my hands on.  I loved it.  Messy, but I loved it. Right On baby.  RIGHT ON!