City Hall Park 2015City Hall Park – Watercolor on a 1/2 sheet of Arches 140# coldpress

City Hall Park is an oasis among the tall buildings in lower Manhattan.  I used to go there frequently to eat lunch, chill, sometimes listen to concerts or look at art and, of course, people watch.  Mostly you see other office workers, occasionally a celebrity and once in a while this guy:

Living in NYC has its perks with celebrity sightings.  But I have to say I was a bit jealous when my sister traveled to the Washington, D.C. area (Virginia, actually) to an event and got to meet Supreme Court Justice Ruth Bader Ginsberg a/k/a Notorious RBG.

When my sister got back she texted my brother who does not read my blog and me to tell us about the weekend.

The Sister:  I won’t lie…it was a thrill to meet Justice Ginsberg.

My brother who does not read my blog:   I met Darth Vader.  The Sith lord, Leader of the galactic empire, Supreme commander of the Imperial fleet, Suppressor of the rebel alliance, Basically an evil bad ass.

The Sister:  You win.
I guess the term “celebrity” is relative.
The above painting was started and stopped over a period of months and many times almost got turned into scrap paper. I think I managed to save it enough to say that I like it.  It was a learning experience, that’s for sure.