seated figure - long post

I signed up for three watercolor figure drawing classes at the NYC Art Students League with Naomi Campbell (the artist, not the model). This was the first time I did figure drawing in at least 35 years.   (When I was around 3 years old.)

Naomi only wants you to work in one color, no drawing first, no outlining with the brush.   Just use a wash of color to capture the largest shapes first.  We did a number of 1 and 2 minute poses and then a few thumbnails of short poses.  Then a long pose.  The painting above was the long pose.  The ones below are the gestural sketches. Naomi told me I used too much paint, which made me laugh because usually I use too little.  But she was pleased with my early sketches, and thought the top one was ok too, but I had to lighten it up a lot.   Class again next Monday night.   Very sleepy at work on Tuesday.

gestural sketchesModel standing hold boxthumbnails seated figure

