My cousins just returned from another wonderful trip to Pula, Croatia.   I can’t wait to go back there.  It got me to remembering my visit there and going through old photos.

Croatian woman 8-18-2013Croatian woman 1/4 sheet of Arches 140# cold press

Croatian woman 8-11-2013

I liked this woman who was carrying greens from the field.  It reminded me of a recent NYTimes article I read called “The Island where people forget to die.”   It’s a story about a Greek American who was diagnosed with lung cancer in his 60’s, decides to move back to the Greek Isle of Ikaria where he came from and then proceeds to continue to live another 30 years or so. According to the article that was written in October, 2012 he was either 97 or 102!  One of the keys to his long life…napping.

I love to nap.   I wonder if I will live to be 102?  Oh wait,  you also have to exercise and eat a mostly plant-based diet.  Where does chocolate fit in?

I imagine this woman carrying the greens from the field to make salad, tea, or soup.   I’m also trying not to overpaint paintings.

It’s almost mid-August and Robin Thicke’s “Blurred Lines” has been named the “song of the summer.”  It’s a super catchy tune with misogynistic lyrics.    However, the always amusing Jimmy Fallon did a cleaned up version of the song with Robin Thicke and his band The Roots using classroom instruments.  It makes me laugh and laugh.   Enjoy:

http://www.latenightwithjimmyfallon.com/video/jimmy-fallon-robin-thicke-and-the-roots-sing-blurred-lines-w-classroom-instruments/n39567/

