Gowanus Canal Union Street Bridge 6-30-13Gowanus Canal at Union Street looking North 1/2 sheet 140# CP Arches

Misty Trees 6-30-13Misty trees – 1/2 sheet 140# Arches CP

Lately I’ve noticed so many young men with big, full beards.  I am not a fan of big, full beards.  They look itchy.   And I always think food gets caught in them. When I see someone in the neighborhood with a big beard my mind goes through the following list:

  • Hasidic? – Probable considering where I live.  There’s even a site called hasid or hipster.
  • Muslim? – Ditto.
  • Amish?   – Possible but not probable.
  • A member of ZZ Top?  Doubtful.
  • Hipster?  YES!!!

What is up with beards lately?  And why are so many of them red?  Even when the guy’s hair is not.  Why do hipsters embrace beards?   And why are they all so skinny.  (The hipsters, not the beards?)   And why do they often complement that look with a fedora?  I have so many questions.

Now of course there’s another definition for a beard.  That’s the lady friend of a gay man who does not want to be seen as a gay man.  But there were no beards out today during the always fun and amusing Gay Pride parade today in Manhattan.

I’ve completed these two paintings and now need to start something else. I find it interesting that the palette in both paintings are similar.  The Husband, who has been making noises about moving out west even noticed it.  I told him we can frame them together as a country/city duo.

Happy 4th of July to all of you in the USA.

