Union Street Bridge over the Gowanus WIP 6-16-13View of the Gowanus from the Union Street Bridge – W.I.P. 1/2 sheet 140 # Arches coldpress

“Victoria Beckham arrives with her son Brooklyn on her arm” screamed a headline on one of the grocery store magazines. It was at some idiotic awards event.

Do NOT even get me started.   Victoria Beckham named her son Brooklyn. Ashlee Simpson named her kid Bronx.  Do these people have a clue?

I will bet you a million dollars (from the trust fund I’m still waiting to inherit) that neither one of these people have ever been to Brooklyn or the Bronx.   And if they did, it was only to go to Yankee Stadium, or the Barclays Center. And I bet they went in a limo.  Puhleeze.  Let them take the 3 train to 148th Street and walk around for a little while.  As a life-long NYer, I take umbrage at the fact that these celebrities named their children after boroughs of NYC, while not even knowing one thing about them (or us).

I talked about kids names in a previous blog post called “Who named that kid rain?”  However, I think if celebrities want to name their kids after NYC boroughs I think perhaps they should drill down a little and continue with names based on the final destinations of subway lines.

Since I’m here to help, I’ve started a list of possible names for future celebrity babies:

  • Harlem
  • Haarlem (with two “a”s if you want to go old school Dutch)
  • Euclid
  • Wakefield
  • Flatbush
  • Rockaway
  • Canarsie
  • Ditmars
  • Coney (Island)
  • Flushing
  • Pelham
  • Mosholu
  • Woodlawn
  • Van Cortlandt
  • Inwood
  • New Lots

CELEBRITIES:   your’re welcome

I started another painting of the lavender lake, um, I mean the Gowanus Canal.  I did a painting of it here called “Reflections on the Gowanus” that I really liked. The painting is of the Gowanus Canal looking north.   I’ve just laid in the first washes.  I sent the photo to my ex-dog walking buddy Charlie who now lives in Maine and he said I’ve made it look like paradise.  Unfortunately we both know it’s incredibly polluted so it’s no paradise at all.  But it’s fun to paint.