sea lion on the rocks 6-9-13SOLD

sealion on the rocks WIP 6-2-13

Galapagos Sea Lion – 1/4 sheet arches 140 # coldpress

I was going to call this painting “sea lion on the rocks” but I thought it sounded too much like a cocktail.  What are the ingredients for a Sea Lion On The Rocks?  Here ya go:

Kingdom: Animalia
Phylum: Chordata
Subphylum: Vertebrata
Class: Mammalia
Order: Carnivora
Suborder: Caniformia
Superfamily: Pinnipedia
Family: Otariidae
Subfamily: Otariinae

Add a little ice and voila!

I liked my Sandy Sea Lion and my Galapagos vacation so much that I wanted to do another painting of those adorable creatures.  Sea lions are usually very light brown to very dark brown but when wet they can look black.  This one must have come out of the water  not long before we came upon her lounging in the sun because as she started to dry she got lighter on her head and neck.

As I started drawing the sea lion on the rocks it was really hard to get her face. To me she had the face of a puppy and the body of a sea lion. Maybe I created a new mythical creature.  Like the griffin which is a legendary creature with the body, tail, and back legs of a lion; the head and wings of an eagle; and an eagle’s talons as its front feet.That’s why I need a cryptozoologist.  To help me make famous this newly discovered puppy-lion.

cryp·to·zo·ol·o·gy

[krip-toh-zoh-ol-uh-jee] noun – the study of evidence tending to substantiate the existence of, or the search for, creatures whosereported existence is unproved, as the Abominable Snowman or the Loch Ness monster.

Hopefully by next week she will look more like a sea lion and less like a mythical creature.

