View from the 11th floor WIP 2-5-13

Sick of seeing the same painting over and over again?   It’s called the Groundhog Day Effect. I am so done with this painting but for some reason it’s not done with me.  I keep fuzting with it.  Futzing:  Yiddish meaning STOP ALREADY!  Leave it alone.

You can see the earlier versions in the previous post.  I gave the flowers more depth and I worked on the sky a bit.

A number of friends & co-workers have been complaining about being tired, not wanting to do anything, not having any energy.  Dr. King (one of my other personalities) has a diagnosis:   FEBRUARY.  The worst month.  Short but cruel.  One is tired of winter, darkness, colds, flu and all the other things that go along with February.  If you’ve ever watched Seinfeld on TV you pronounce FEBRUARY the way Jerry pronounced “NEWMAN”.

There were only two really good things so far in February.

  • The puppy bowl.   Anyone in the US who doesn’t get all caught up in the nonsense of the Super Bowl can now at least watch the puppy bowl.  Who doesn’t love watching puppies romp and play?  As an aside, if anyone is curious about why the lights went out after the half-time show it was cause Beyonce used up all the electricity.
  • Groundhog Day.  Why we think that some icky rodent called a groundhog, also known as a woodchuck or whistle-pig, belonging to the group of large ground squirrels known as marmots can predict the future is beyond me.   My biggest laugh came as I was channel surfing on groundhog day (Feb. 2nd) and came across the Weather Channel’s huge banner that said:   DECISION 2013  Groundhog Day.  Were they kidding? This is on par with the presidential election?   And don’t eve get me started about the 24 hour News Cycle when talking heads go on and on about the same stuff over and over and over and over and over again.  It’s like the movie “Groundhog Day” with Bill Murray.

To all my blog friends.  I’ve been having a lot of trouble lately commenting on your blogs.  I’m trying to work it out.  Please don’t think I haven’t been visiting all of you.   I hope this will be fixed soon.

