View from the 11th floor WIP 1-29-12View from the 11th floor probably still a WIP  1-29-13

I did a little more work on this painting.  The question is now, is it over worked.  I don’t know.  What I do know is it’s time to move on to something else and maybe revisit this at a later time.

View from the 11th floor WIP 1-22-12

View from the 11th Floor -WIP 1-22-13  Watercolor on 140# Arches coldpress.

This is not the view from my apartment.  I wish.   It’s from my friend’s apartment and is very special to me.   After 9/11 I made my way uptown and stayed with Judy.  Still reeling and in shock I slept at her place that night knowing that the Husband would be working for many, many days to come. The next morning when I woke up, I checked the window and yes, the Empire State Building was still there.  I knew the twin towers were gone, so I was happy to see this part of the skyline remained.   I still always check when I visit Judy.  Just in case.

Judy has some beautiful plants on her windowsill and they grow tall with all the sun she gets.  (I, on the other hand, live in a cave by comparison.) I thought the juxtaposition of the foliage against a backdrop of the city buildings made for an interesting picture.   I plan on making the leaves and stems brighter and stronger in comparison to the skyline.  I’m pretty much finished with the skyline with the exception of adding some suggestions of windows in the buildings. We’ll see.  Below this window is Madison Square Park and then across the park are the buildings looking north.

It’s frosty cold in NYC today.  More like freezing cold.  I’m pretty sure if you’re in the US you’re cold too.  Are you sick?  Everyone here is.  So is the husband.  I woke up this morning with a tickle in my throat and a song in my heart.  OK, the song part isn’t true.  More like a runny nose.  Stay warm friends.

