Cutting Board 15″ x 11″ tempered glass

12″ square plate

6″ square plate

On February 29th, 2012, Davy Jones of the Monkees died of a massive heart attack.  I was sad.   I liked the Monkees (no they were not the Beatles or the Stones) but they were fun and cute and had a stupidly funny TV show that I watched when I was a kid.  I had a crush on Mickey Dolenz and not Davey Jones, but I’m still sad Davey’s  gone.  (He was 66 and had a 36 year old wife!   Maybe THAT’S what killed him?)

Hey, hey, we’re the Monkees, and people say we monkey around.

But we’re too busy singing to put anybody down.

Now I have those infectious Monkees’ songs in my head.  At least they drown out the voices.

What’s up with February 29th?   It’s a strange day.  When I was home yesterday switching over from the Julian to the Gregorian calendar I wondered why we have a February 29th.

The Gregorian calendar includes leap years so that one day we don’t wake up and find ourselves celebrating Christmas in the summer.   Leap years are defined as follows:  Every year that is exactly divisible by four is a leap year, except for years that are exactly divisible by 100; the centurial years that are exactly divisible by 400 are still leap years. For example, the year 1900 is not a leap year; the year 2000 is a leap year.  

Got that?  zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

When my nephew Jimmy was young (and a smarty pants) he asked his dad why October is the tenth month when Octo means eight. (Think octomom!)   His dad explained that October USED to be the 8th month but then Julius and Augustus Caesar wanted their own months…namely July and August.  Jimmy thought for a moment and decided to he wanted his own month to be called Jimuary.   Cool!    Now I want my own month.  It will be called  Napember. It’s a month were we can all catch up on our sleep.  (you may recall that I retain the title of  Tiredest Person that Ever Lived.)

I’m working on paintings that aren’t even in a stage where I can show them as a work in progress, so here’s some decoupage under glass pieces I’ve also been working on.   Glass is hard to photograph.

