Decoupaged image, bronzing powders and paint on the back of a clear glass dinner plate

Recently Charlie and Liz’s son Chris was telling me about his new job as a manager at a “Green” cleaning company.  These are all the rage.  As a manager he goes to different locations to price out jobs as well as check on the cleaning crews. Most of his jobs are just regular cleaning gigs, but a few were kind of gross…from cleaning up after a hoarder with a dead cat under all her junk to cleaning up a location where someone had died.   NOT of natural causes.

While I’m all for green cleaning when it comes to blood spatter or pet remains I say give me bleach and keep it coming. Which reminds me of an old Seinfeld joke.  He spoke about a TV ad for a laundry detergent and how the ad claimed it could get blood out of a shirt.  His comment was “if you need to worry about getting blood out of your shirt perhaps laundry isn’t your biggest problem”.

Oh how Jerry made me laugh.

There is a family down the block who we think are hoarders.  When Charlie and I are doing the late walk and someone comes in or out of that house we peek inside and marvel at the stacks of stuff.  Charlie wondered if they were really hoarders or just have really bad decorating taste?  Do they think a used shopping bag makes a really nice table accessory? I guess we will never know.  I have a feeling we won’t be invited in anytime soon.  No room.

The plate above is one of 6 that I did, each with a different flower or group of flowers.  Unfortunately photographing glass is difficult for me.  The background has metallic bronzing powder in golds and greens and then was painted with a cream color with a final coat of polyurethane.   If I can get some good pictures of the rest I’ll post them.   You can see the other glass pieces I did here.  I think those photographed better because of the darker background.   Since it’s clear glass on the top and the image, paint and metallic powder is all on the back you can actually eat off them.  Cleaning is easy, just hand wash.  Try not to get blood on them.

