Sneakers  – Arches 140 lb coldpress

OMG!  I am so not a camping person.  Actually I have never camped in my life.   And I plan to keep it that way.

But last Saturday at my sister’s we were having a swell time, planning to spend the evening drawing and working on art projects when suddenly BAM! the power went out.

Unbeknownst to me, up there when the power goes out you also don’t have water (she has a well with a pump that, you guessed it, runs on electricity.)   You may have guessed it, but I didn’t have a clue.  We also couldn’t cook since she has an electric stove. No heat, no running water, no working toilets and no lights.  (And boy was it cold.)

WHERE THE HELL WAS I?   WAHHHHHH!  I WANT TO GO HOME TO THE NICE DIRTY CITY WHERE THE WATER RUNS AND THE HEAT STAYS ON EVEN WHEN THERE’S NO ELECTRICITY.

But no, I stayed.

Moron.

I kept thinking the power would come back on.  It never did and then it was too late to drive home.  So I slept, in my clothes, with 7 hand warmers in the bed with me.    As soon as it was daylight I hightailed it out of there faster than you can say “D TRAIN” and didn’t relax until I saw the Projects, um I mean Urban Developments, when I hit the city line in the Bronx.

To comfort myself from my traumatic experience, I’m posting this cityscape.  I feel calmer already.

What’s up with sneakers being thrown on the power and telephone lines.  I’ve heard lots of stories about what it means, but have never heard one that really sounded true.   I always figured it was kids just goofing around.   Anyone have any ideas?

The color is a little off on the photo above.  Damn camera.

Next week:  What’s up with those plastic bags stuck in trees?

