Stephen’s Water Lilies, again  –  9×12 140 lb Strathmore cold press

Last week a news program reported that some brainiac scientist determined that the 3rd Monday in January is the most depressing for us in the Northern Hemisphere.   The formula is weather plus debt minus salary multiplied by the time since Christmas to the time since failure to fulfill New Year’s resolutions. Then take that and divide by motivational level and the need to take action.   Or, for you math types:

\frac{[W + D-d] T^Q}{M N_a}

This is also the time of year where there are many cases of SAD, or Seasonal Affective Disorder, when people experience symptoms of depression during the winter.  I may have a little case of SAD with nothing to look forward to but February, which isn’t saying much.  On the plus side though, I noticed that when I left work on Friday it was still light out, so yay for that!

I was visiting my sister this weekend.  It was super cold and there was so much snow where she lived, there was not much to do but sip a cosmo, light a fire and paint.  I decided to paint Stephen‘s water lilies, again.  You can see my first version here.   Interestingly, it was right about this time last year when I painted the water lilies for the first time.   Hmmmm.

