Theft of innocence

A fun class with artist Christopher Staples taught me how to transform pages from National Geographic magazine to the most wonderful marbled and manipulated papers using a natural cleaner and degreaser called CitraSolv. This product not only dissolves chewing gum, lipstick, and adhesives, it also breaks down the ink on the pages of National Geographic without damaging the paper.  The packaging says it’s made from clear liquid from the peel of an orange, essential oils and biodegradable cleaning agents derived from coconut.  It’s also vegan. I guess that’s  in case you want to drink it.

No, I thought not.

After we created some of the most fabulous papers I’ve ever seen we went to the 2nd step which was to then take the pages we created and use them to make a collage.

The images that came out of the manipulation using the CitraSolv were absolutely incredible.  You take the product and either spray it on the pages using a spray bottle, or paint the pages using a brush.  You can then add some Saran wrap to get some really amazing effects.  Close the magazine,  let the pages dry and voila!  You’re in business with some of the prettiest papers ever.

This collage just emerged by itself.     I have never blogged nor have I made any art having to do with 9/11, but this one just happened.

My sister took the class with me.  Here is her collage:

If you want to try this here are my suggestions:

Use CitraSolv in a ventilated area or outside if possible.   Use rubber gloves if you don’t want to get ink on your hands, but if you do get in on your hands, you can use the CitraSolv to get it right off!

As a side note:  Do not get a manicure the day before you decide to try these techniques.  (Like I did.)

