Stephen’s water lilies   –   22″ x 15″ on Arches 140# cold press paper

My oh my has it been cold and snowy.  It’s getting near the end of February and then March brings Spring.  YIPPEE.  I can’t wait.  I am SO done with this winter.  Where are those hot flashes when you really need them?

On a recent evening dog walk, on yet another freezing winter night a cold wind was blowing directly in our faces.

Carol:  OMG!  I’m freezing.  That wind is so cold.

Charlie: Imagine it’s a warm Zephyr.

Carol: I will try.      *I try*

Carol:  Not working.  I’m still freezing.  That wind ain’t no Zephyr.  It’s an arctic blast.

Charlie: My high school newsletter was called The Zephyr.   Really, it should have just been called THE WINDBAG.

Carol: My high school newsletter was called DON’T WEAR PATENT LEATHER SHOES OR THE BOYS WILL BE ABLE TO LOOK UP YOUR PLAID CATHOLIC SCHOOL SKIRT.

We laugh and laugh.

It’s still damn cold.

I often pop over to Stephen’s blog where it’s summer and he’s usually baking in the heat and surfing at the Pipe.  I visit, not only to see his beautiful watercolors, but also so I can remember than soon we won’t need our boots, sweaters, scarves, hats and winter coats.  (And then I can complain about how damn hot it is!)

Stephen is a watercolor artist in South Africa. In one of his posts he had a photo of a lake with waterlilies.  Here is his photo of the waterlilies.  And here is his post about them.   I was taken with his photo and his painting and asked if I could try my own version.  He kindly said yes.  (Stephen, just in case you forgot, you DID say yes.)    So,  here is my version.   I look at it and think, some day there will be some water lilies in my sister’s pond upstate.  I can’t wait.

