I am finished with The Country Road.  Or it is finished with me.  I think the latter.  It chewed me up and spit me out.

Here it is, not looking ANYTHING like I thought it would. Oh well.  There are so many things that turn out not the way I think they will.  I need more watercolor practice.  I never quite know what I’m going to get when I start a painting and I have a sneaking suspicion that some of you actually know exactly what you’re doing!

C’est la vie.

I changed the name of the piece from The Road to The Country Road.  Why?  Because too many people were thinking it had to do with the book called The Road.  As anyone who has read The Road, the book written by Cormac McCarthy that won the Pulitzer Prize for fiction in 2007 would know,  this could never be a representation of anything in that book.   There are no colors in that world.  To quote myself, there are only 64 variations of Ash in a post apocalyptic world.

Speaking of a post-apocalyptic world, it must seem like that in Haiti, I cannot believe the destruction and devastation there.  Donations have been made, but it’s still so disturbing that so much help cannot yet get through.

Cathyann Burgess, an artist on my blog roll is selling a print and the proceeds will go to Doctors without Borders to help Haiti.  Why don’t you click here, check it out and submit a bid.

I am still sick, although much better then before.   But I’m still coughing, sneezing, wheezing…. And now my husband is sick.  I guess it was inevitable.   So I will take my tea, or my hot toddy, I’ll let you guess and go watch the golden globes under the covers.

Hic.

