I’m sick.

Sick, sick, sick.

Coughing, sneezing, wheezing, bronchial infection, sinus infection and low-grade fever.

I DESPISE being sick.

I have had more tea and soup than I can shake a stick at.  (That is such an odd expression.  Why would I want to shake a stick at tea and soup?  But you know what I mean.)  My nose is raw.  My ribcage hurts from coughing.  I have squirted saline solution up my nose.  (Yes, Alice, Robert talked me into it and I have finally irrigated my sinuses and it DID work.)  I have taken Tylenol, Advil, Musinex and my temperature.  I have breathed in steam both from a boiling hot shower and from a small humidifier.  I have gone through boxes of tissues.  I did NOT sleep a wink last night.  My voice sounds like I have smoked a carton of cigarettes and drank a fifth of bourbon.

I wanted to finish THE ROAD today in class, but there was no way I was leaving my bed, let alone my apartment.

I finally DID leave my bed, mostly out of sheer boredom.  And I finished my latest knitting project which is a small baby blanket pictured above.  Why am I posting if I’m so sick you ask?

My computer was on the verge of dying.  The husband and I got a new one and he hooked it up this weekend.  I wanted to see how much stuff I lost, if any, and I have to say that my husband did an amazing job.  I am not technically oriented.  I cried the first time I got a blackberry.  If it was up to me, my version of having a blog would be mimeographing sheets of paper and snail-mailing them to friends.

New computer-wise, there are a few things we either can’t find or don’t know how to load, but I think I will ask my genius friends Sara and Tony to come over.  It’s great having friends like them.  Besides being super-duper smart, they are always so kind as to help their “older” friend with all her techno problems.   They are the best.

Ok,  I’m happy to see my blog is still here.   Now if  I can only find my address book and old mail for my nyc.rr.account…

Now it’s back to bed for me.

