And we weren’t kicked out!

This past Sunday Matt and I were off to The Plaza “to celebrate Julianna Margulies, actress, Marc Platt  producer of  the Broadway musical Wicked and the new movie NINE) and 25 years of New York Stage and Film at the Winter Gala at The Plaza Hotel on Sunday, December 13.”

My sister Alice is on the board of directors of New York Stage and Film. (Alice is the overachiever in the family!)   She asked if I would donate an original watercolor for the charity auction, to which I replied “of course!”   I surreptitiously took this photo during the cocktail hour with my phone camera. Not the best photo, but I was too fascinated with the amount of make-up the women had on, the height of the heels (really, how do they walk on those things?), and mostly, the amount of “work” some people had done.

(If you want to see a better picture of the Snowy Trees please go here:  https://carolking.wordpress.com/2008/09/14/snowy-trees/)

At the end of the evening while we were picking up our swag (who doesn’t love swag?)  my sister saw the gentleman who bid and won my painting. She told me he looked THRILLED to have won it.   That was thrilling for me to hear!

Now, about the event…stars, schmars.  I’ve seen my fair share and must say I am probably a jaded New Yorker.  I couldn’t care less about seeing “Stars” except for the above mentioned fixation on how much make-up they have on or how much “work” they have had.   I would have been more excited to meet  Stephen Colbert (I LOVE HIM!), but I would be remiss in my reporting duties if I didn’t tell you who was there.  So here’s a list of some of the celebs at the Gala.

Christine Baransky (I love her!)
Terry Kinney who lives up the block from us
and
You know what amazed me the most????  It cost $65.00 to park the car!

