color wheel 8-26-09

One day I took a walk with the husband and the dog.  It was a beautiful Saturday and the streets were crowded.

We leave the house.

Husband:

As we tried to pass a couple with some kids: Damn yuppies with their double wide strollers taking up the whole sidewalk.  They think they own the street.

As we tried to pass a guy with a dog who was trying to go after our dog: Damn people with their dogs they aren’t paying attention to.

As someone was just about to walk into us: Damn people walking and texting at the same time.

After about an hour of this I gave him the “look”.  For those of you who have been married for more than 15 minutes, you know the “look.”

Then I told him this walk was worse then when I walk the dogs with Charlie at night.  I said he better get to work where a nice bloody crime scene might lower his blood pressure.

Later that evening….I retell the story to Charlie, LEAVING IN THE PART ABOUT THAT WALK BEING WORSE THAN WHEN I WALK THE DOGS WITH CHARLIE AT NIGHT.

Charlie (luckily) laughs and then tells me he is going to be Peter Positive.  So since then, just as Charlie is about to complain about the people, the dogs, the buildings, his job, he will stop himself and change the sentence around so that it’s positive.

Just a few days ago, as we walked by some horrible new construction that has been going up all over Park Slope, Charlie turns to me and as he is about to say something about how horrible the building is or how it will probably fall apart and be an eyesore and a ghetto in a few years he stops himself, smiles and says “Isn’t it interesting how that building has changed the landscape of Park Slope.”

Peter Positive lasted 15 minutes.

A leopard can’t change it’s spots.

A color wheel can’t change it’s colors.   Or can it?   We learned some color theory in class on Wed.   It was fun to see how different primary colors change the secondary colors and tertiary colors.  I have to do another one as homework using different primaries.   I tried one already, but it was on Strathmore paper which DOESN’T COMPARE to Arches.

White vase with apples 8-30-09

On another note, I finished the white vase with apples and brought it home.  I showed it to my husband the art critic who said “the vase needs more shading.  It looks like someone just cut out a rectangle where the vase is.”

Oh well,  I call it artistic license.  It’s staying as is.   I have color wheels to do.

