jack August 09

July 4th Millie in Red White and Blue

This weekend was the 40th anniversary of Woodstock.  Which, as everyone knows, was not held in Woodstock, NY, but in Bethel, NY.  And I almost got to go!

I remember I was in a mini-skirt watching the Smothers Brothers on TV when my cousin Bobby from California rang the doorbell and surprised us.  He was out of the army and was going up to Woodstock.  He asked my mother if he could take me.  She said yes!!!!!  (I’m sure she had NO CLUE what he was talking about)  But I was so excited.

When I woke up the next morning, I went looking for Bobby.  He was gone!  I asked my mother where he was and she told me that during the evening my father and Bobby started drinking, got into a fight and my father threw him out of the house.  And with it my chance to go to Woodstock.  Damn!  But in retrospect, it saved me from a weekend of mud!

Here’s some quick portraits I did of my nephew Jack and of my mom.

Jack, my 16 year old nephew would not stay still.  He was playing Texas Hold ’em on my phone.  (Hello Gamblers Anonymous?)   Mom on the other hand never moved.  (She was medicated.) She is a good model.  Please note that she is not that blue in real life!  🙂

I started my “Watercolor for the Absolute Beginner” class this week.  What fun!  I’ve never actually had a basic beginner watercolor class so this was very interesting.  Turns out I knew more than I thought.  Also turns out I  don’t  know a lot.  (No surprise there.) We played with the paint, learned about how the consistency of the paint affects the color.  We made color swatches, lines, blobs.  We painted and then lifted paint from the paper.  And finally, the teacher showed us how to make some basic flower shapes which are here:

flower study 8-19-09I’m really looking forward to the next class!

*Update to my masking tape post* the subway stairway repair at Union Street is still not completed.  Is anyone surprised?

Masking Tape sign

