I find this blogging business is tough for me.  Sometimes I have a painting to post but nothing to say.  Most times I have something to say but nothing to post.  Today is was the former.  And I’m always truly  amazed that people notice if I haven’t posted for a while.  (Even if it’s only two of you.) Today it was Leslie.  She was a tough taskmaster (she emailed me twice!) but if it wasn’t for her I wouldn’t have posted.  I’d probably still be napping.  crab apples - finished 8-9-09

Friday night I went to the movies to see Julie & Julia.  Yes, I, who for the most part can’t stand movies went to see a movie on opening night.  (I was promised popcorn.)  The movie is about Julia Child the famous cook and Julie Powell, a NYC woman who blogs about cooking all 524 recipes in Julia’s cookbook in 365 days in a teeny tiny apartment kitchen in Queens.  I don’t want to give away too much of the movie since some of my friends want to see it but  one thing I was acutely aware of was the blogging portion of the movie and how the character of Julie was portrayed as self-absorbed and whiny.   Since I could NEVER, EVER relate to someone who actually cooks, I related to the blogger.  But I do not want to be perceived as self-absorbed and whiny.  I prefer to think of this blog as expressive and commentative (is that a word?) of a sometime artist, all time disgruntled city worker and NYC resident who really, really, really needs a break from subway sensory overload. (Not to mention those airplane collisions/crash landings over/on the Hudson.)  My damn nerves are shot.

Ok, maybe sometimes I’m whiny.   I prefer to think I’m just an observer who comments.  Like why, when one spell checks one’s blog, the word BLOG isn’t recognized and one is given suggestions like bog, clog,  blab and blob.  Really?  WordPress is a BLOG and it’s dictionary couldn’t add the word “blog” to the list?  That cracks me up.

The other thing I really like about this blogging business is that I have made a few blogosphere friends.  I visit them via their blog.  They visit me.  I’m pretty sure none of them are serial killers.  Many of them are very funny.  They are all excellent artists. I like them all.

I finally finished the crab apple painting.  Right side up.  Even though many of you expressed the opinion that you liked it better upside down.  I’m still laughing about all those comments.

In a few moments of overachieving I actually started another painting.

Pear or light bulb 8-9-09

It’s a pear with leaves and branches.  (Yes, more leaves and branches.)  It looks like a light bulb.  Maybe it will be the light bulb that goes off over my head one of these days when I finally get this blogging thing (and painting thing).

Until then, it will remain “To blog or not to blog.  That is the question.”

