susnjevica1-4-09

I finished this painting in record time!  I actually could have posted it on Sunday, but was too fixated on the world ending in 2012 and ShamWow!  (They are made in Germany, you know.)

This is a painting of my grandmother’s town.  I have never been there but hope to visit someday.  My cousin Gabriella is in the picture along with her mom Lisa.  And someone else I don’t know.

It’s not a very big place.  I asked my cousin what street this was, and she told me it was the only street!   Can you imagine?  I can’t.

Šušnjevica is the Slavic name of the town, Valdarsa the Italian name.  It is the home of a large (the largest?) Istro-Romanian population.  What does that mean?  Nothing except that I’m still a big, fat American and if Oprah can’t lose weight, what with her personal trainers and chefs and people to advise her on everything what hope is there for the rest of us?

There was yet ANOTHER show on how the world is going to end in 2012.   I detect a theme.  But no ShamWow commercials.  However a lot of commercials for male enhancement.  Who exactly (besides me) are watching these end of the world programs?

