istrian-street-12-28-08

Today is my birthday.

I am not 60.

In class today the teacher brought out a cake for me with 6 candles.  Another person in the class joked that the 6 candles were for 60 years.   A twenty-something  girl  in the class looked at me quite earnestly and said “YOU LOOK GREAT FOR 60!”   I laughed and laughed.  So there you go.  I look great for 60!  At least that’s something.

December 28th is not the best day to have a birthday.  It’s 3 days after Christmas and 3 days before New Year’s and quite frankly no one gives a rat’s ass about it.   They are zonked from Christmas and looking forward to New Year’s Eve.    So, to all my friends and relatives who remembered, thanks!

I know three other people who have a birthday today.  My nephew Kevin.  Bob who lives around the corner and we never see each other.  And my husband’s partner Sean.

None of them are 60 today either.

Not that there’s anything wrong with being 60.  I hope to be lucky enough to be 60 someday.  However today is not that day.

The painting above is another image from Istria.  One of these days I will make it there to visit.

