istrai-2-16-08.jpg

Here’s a watercolor done from a photo my sister took when she was in Istria where my grandparents came from. I started it in class last week and lost all hope. This week I looked at it and said, well, this will be one of those experiments that get ripped up at the end of the class, but surprisingly, after I worked on it some more I started to like it. I’m not quite sure if it’s done and will decide when I go back to class next week and it’s completely dry. In the meantime, I can tell you a little bit about Istria. I’ll give you the short version. When my grandmother was born, Istria was part of Austria. Then, after WWI it became part of Italy. Then, after WWII it became part of Yugoslavia. Now it belongs to Croatia. It’s symbol is a goat (I don’t know why.) (I am a Capricorn and that symbol is a goat I don’t know why.) It has an amazing coliseum that rivals the one in Rome. And I hope to visit there someday. In the meantime, I’ll just paint it.

