Purple and Red Flowers with leaves – watercolor on 140# Arches Cold Press

Happy Mother’s Day to all you moms out there.  It’s been crazy busy and now I must run out to watch my nephew’s crew race.

I got a mother’s day gift from my dog Kaiya.  Hmmm,  She doesn’t work.  I wonder how she bought it, wrapped it and left it on the counter for me.  Does she have money and credit cards I don’t know about?  Oh well, I guess I will remain ignorantly blissful about things like that.  🙂

Spring seems to have finally arrived.  I painted some purple cone flowers and some red flowers above  using a reference photo from my friend in class who is from that no-left-turn state, New Jersey.  The state that mocks me.  But in fact these flowers were found in New Jersey so I dedicate this painting to my cousin Anthony and his partner Dayle who always tell me that NJ can be beautiful.

And for a final sign that spring has arrived, here’s a photo of the beautiful Cherry Blossoms from the Esplanade during the Cherry Blossom festival last week.